My Disdain for Thanksgiving, and What I Did About It

Are you celebrating Thanksgiving or Thanksgetting?

The Good Men Project
3 min readNov 29, 2019
Photo Credit: Flickr/Ben Seidelman

By Jay Austin

Unfortunately, Thanksgiving has lost its luster in our family.

Today, many of us in North America will gather with family and friends to celebrate good times, good food, and maybe even some good football. Today, our focus is on gratitude.

My family’s Thanksgivings have evolved over the years. We’ve moved the celebration from house to house. The people have changed because of births, deaths, and divorces. Even our meals have changed to accommodate our vegan members.

The day has become a chore; the week before looks more like a long to-do list. There are emails to send, travel plans to make, and miles to drive. There’s food to buy and food to prepare. My dad and I love to work on our businesses, which means we don’t particularly enjoy interruptions to our work week. Thanksgiving is that type of mid-week interruption to us.

It wasn’t until yesterday that I realized my minor disdain for Thanksgiving.

The feeling didn’t appear abruptly. It was something that has festered inside over the course of several years. I had never encouraged myself to look deeper into what I was feeling, until now. But if there were…

--

--

The Good Men Project

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com